Moss Points North

inspired ramblings of a designer

3D glasses

2 Comments

This past weekend I went to see Avatar 3D in an IMAX theater.  Now I had not seen anything 3D since probably Disney World in 5th grade – add in the huge screen at the IMAX and I was prepared (albeit a little nervous) to be completely blown away by this experience.  While I won’t comment on the movie itself, the experience indeed was a good one – after my brain got used to what was going on, I was able to watch quite comfortably.

Since I had not been to anything 3D since 5th grade, I was still under the impression that you wore those red and blue lensed paper glasses.  Much to my surprise, I was handed yellow rimmed plastic glasses that looked like cheap sunglasses.  Being a curious person, I decided to look up how these ‘sunglasses’ worked to bring me this 3D experience.

Without going into too much detail (hopefully the image explains fairly well) I gathered that the reason we ourselves see in 3D is that we interpret through two eyes, each seeing a different image – our brain then puts these two images together to ‘see’ a 3D object.  Applying the same principle to the screen – we need to view two different images in order to see 3D.  The blue filters everything so we only see the red image and vice versa.

The glasses I was given however, did not have blue and red lenses – they looked fairly normal.  It seems that they instead have different polarizations for the lenses.  They actually shoot the movie with a camera that takes shots from two different lenses (much like our eyes) and then they play one with horizontal polarization and the other view with vertical – we then see the different perspectives seperated and our brain can interpret the 3D!

Pretty neat!

To read more – I got my info here and here.  Images from here and here.

2 thoughts on “3D glasses

  1. Thanks for including my anaglyph on your page! Can you make it link back to its flickr page when you click on the image?
    Cheers!
    Ian5281

Leave a Reply

